Fountain Runs and Senior Week

Yesterday I had the best day I’ve had in a while, and you know why? I freaking let myself feel like a kid again.

That’s the best part of being out of school, having a chance to have fun. However, as I’ve mentioned before, my go-to way to celebrate a break is to sit back, relax, and watch some TV or turn on the computer. But that doesn’t really give you the opportunity to appreciate the chance you have to truly enjoy yourself. For me, it turns off the mind, which is great for when school is overwhelming me too much and I need to escape. However, for the first time in a long time I’m not trying to escape unpleasant thoughts of deadlines and grades. In fact, I’m done with that for good (although I do like the sound of an MBA.) So what is the point of shutting off the mind when there is so much fun to be had and so many memories to make every day?

Yesterday was great, not because I was able to shut off the outside world and escape it. In fact, I did the opposite. I channeled my inner child and was able to relax while actually in motion.

This is senior week at Purdue University, the week before we graduate. Yesterday, a good friend of mine from my major and I went around campus to get our photo taken in our cap and gown by photographers around campus.  We were not only were able to get professional photos taken for free, but we also had the opportunity to walk around campus and revisit some of our favorite places, reminiscing. The sun was shining and the weather was warm for the first time, it seemed, all spring. I could have been cooped-up at home, napping, but I was instead enjoying my academic home with fresh, nostalgic eyes. We walked to certain places for the fun of it, not because it was faster. We took pictures with funny poses not because they would get more likes on Instagram, but because they were fun to do and made us laugh. Except for when my tassel and gown caught the breeze, bringing my attention to the fact that I am entering a new chapter in adulthood, I felt every bit a kid, traipsing around in the sun with my friend.

We drank from the Stone Lions Fountain, took adorable selfies in front of landmarks, and as we were getting overheated from the sun, we decided to change and do a Fountain Run, a time honored tradition at Purdue where we run through/jump into the gorgeous fountains across campus. Soaking wet, our hair dripping, we got a frappuccino and then walked back across campus, shoes in hand.

All of this may seem like regular, end of the semester college kid shenanigans. And they are. The thing that is important is the fact that I appreciated them in the moment as something else: irreplaceable memories of my college days. Every day is filled with memories like the ones I made yesterday, but often I’m too self-involved or too obsessed with work and grades to appreciate them for what they are. Irreplaceable.

I know this post was a lot more sentimental than some of my other ones, but I can’t help it with my graduation only a couple days away. I’m a townie, so not too much will change over the summer, but a big chapter of my life is closing and it is closing on a high note, which is a lot more than some people can ask for.

Today I challenge you, no matter where you are in life, to pretend you are a kid again…Back in the days when you enjoyed every moment and did fun, spontaneous things without thinking about the fact that you’ll have to walk a mile back to your car in wet clothes. Enjoy the sun, enjoy your friends, listen to that voice that says, ” hey, you know what would be fun to do?” and do it.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

