Write Now

More and more I realize that I chose writing as a major for a reason. I used to think it was because I’m not terrible at writing. Turns out, the reason I write well is because I enjoy it. Throughout college, I have had to write so much about things in which I had so little interest. I began to think I actually hated that which I’d decided to commit my life to.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. Someone the other day just asked me what it would feel like to have no more research papers to write after graduation and, usually, I would say, “fantastic.” But I thought about it, and contemplated the idea of not having an excuse to type for hours, with my tea or coffee by my side, late at night, and I actually felt sad. I love the process of creating, even when it’s not about something I normally enjoy. Throughout the experience of writing this blog, too, I’ve had so much fun and it genuinely relaxes me. While writing what I love feels amazing, writing anything is better than nothing.

Now, enough about me.

Writing has that relaxing effect on more people than just English majors. In fact, there was a study done where it was shown that stress and trauma may be reduced through expressive writing. It’s hard to process emotions that are upsetting or confusing, and writing can help people to sort out those feelings as they write them down. Interestingly, timing may be critical for this technique. Apparently it may be more harmful to write about a traumatic event right after it happens, because the individual may not yet be ready to face those emotions. Waiting 1 to 2 months is recommended.

I have realized that simply diving into a different world where I can reflect emotions and realities from my world, and explore them through a different lens, is fun and a great way to unburden myself from the millions of thoughts and emotions i carry with me every day.

If you want to try writing, here are some fun facts about writing and writers that I thought I’d share from the website, Interesting Literature to help motivate you:

  • “Colygraphia” means “writer’s block”
    • I feel that saying, “ugh, I have such a case of Colygraphia!” is so much classier than, “I can’t think of anything to write about in this blog post. Stupid writer’s block…”
  • J.R.R. Tolkien thought that no one could come up with a new story, for there is a “cauldron of stories” which all writer’s dip into.
    • I love this, because I’ve heard this type of thinking a lot lately, especially in creative writing classes. We all learn from each other and gain influence from a million different things. Is there really such a thing as a new idea?
  • When afflicted with Colygraphia, Dr. Seuss would go to a secret closet in his house where he had a bunch of hats, which he’d try on until inspiration hit him.
    • Did you expect anything different from Dr. Seuss?
  • Novelist Graham Greene would always write exactly 500 words a day, even stopping in the middle of a sentence if he had to.
    • Actress and writer Lauren Graham actually has a tactic like this, which keeps her from procrastinating, and it’s genius. Must be a “Graham” thing. Read about it here.
  • Edith Sitwell apparently liked to lie in an open coffin before she began her day’s writing.
    • I honestly have no comment on that one… Except…Creepy.

That’s all for today. Please write, even if a little. Begin by just planning on writing “x” amount of words every day or even every other day. It may not be for you, but if it is, it’s a fantastic stress relief that you may turn into a work of genius.

2 thoughts on “Write Now

  1. Thank you for posting and sharing your love of writing with others! I was searching for some college student bloggers who may be interested in sharing their stories and advice on our blog, a source of information and help for high school students planning and preparing for college.

    If you would like to share your experiences and knowledge, follow us @ https://collegecareersuccess.wordpress.com/ and leave your wealth of experience for those that will follow!

    P.S. We love to see college students developing a true passion for their chosen majors and future careers; I am very happy for you in this! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

