Cooking Therapy

Long time no see! I had a lovely Spring Break and I hope all of you did as well, or that you at least took the week to try to apply some zen to your life.

Today I want to focus on cooking. Now, a lot of people I know would read this post and laugh aloud, if not by the title, at least by the first sentence of this paragraph. I’m the worst cook on the planet. I’m infamous for my diet of Pop-Tarts and Pizza Rolls.  I’m not happy with my diet and honestly, it causes me some anxiety. I would feel so much better about myself if I took some time out of my day to stop and ask myself if the speed of grabbing junk food on my way out the door was actually worth the lack of nutrition i was receiving.

Trust me, I know that we live in a busy age. Sometimes its just not feasible to cook for yourself as opposed to throwing some pre-made food in the microwave. However, cooking can be a less daunting task than you think, once you learn a few dishes and grasp the basics. It is also therapeutic.

This article by the NY Daily News explains that cooking is relaxing and can even help to heal a broken heart, through creativity and activating the senses.

“Cooking is a great destresser because it serves as a creative outlet,” says Debbie Mandel, author of “Addicted to Stress.” “And while stress can numb your senses, cooking activates them. It’s a sensory experience with aroma, taste, touch, visual delight and even sizzling sound.”

I encourage you to go to our ever faithful Pinterest or to just google, “healthy and easy recipes.” Learning to cook healthy recipes has the possibility of doing a lot of good. You are not only taking your health into your own hands and taking responsibility for what you’re eating, but you’re also doing it in a way that can help you reduce your stress and anxiety.

If you’re located near Purdue, the National Society of Minorities in Hospitality at Purdue is hosting a multicultural cooking demonstration on Monday, March 27 in Marriott Hall. Students will be taught simple dishes to cook at home. Tickets are $12 and you can find more information here.

This would be a great excuse to start your foray into cooking, if you’re like me and need to be taught a few dishes before venturing out on your own. It’s also a great excuse to learn about different cultures and meet new people.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

