Back to the Fun Stuff

In my opinion, our tendency to drop some of our favorite activities because we are “too busy,” is one of the reasons we tend to get more and more stressed the older we get.

Why do we give these things up so easily? I tend to find myself saying that I’ll just stop doing this or that until I’m a little more free. I’ll stop learning guitar until summer break, but when summer comes along, I am too busy visiting family… so I decide to wait to pick up guitar until things calm down and I have normalcy. That’s the problem. We keep assuming there will be a point where we can focus on ourselves and find some peace in our crazy schedules. That isn’t going to happen, we need to make that peace for ourselves.

I was reading about this problem through a few articles online and something that really stood out to me was the fact that, when I searched google for articles about putting off hobbies, the first grouping of search results was about delaying hobbies and fun until after retirement. That shocked me. I hadn’t thought about it, but when does this “putting off” end? I always assumed it would end after college and my crazy assignments that I have due at all times of the week. At most, I thought it would take a little while into my first few years of working professionally. However, as the search results indicate, it doesn’t end. There’s always something. We need to stop ourselves from the terrible habit of delay.

I think a great way to ease ourselves into this is by slowly picking up hobbies or interests that we have let go by the wayside, until we’re “less busy.” What is “less busy”? Is it having time in the day, feeling better about ourselves, or just finding motivation? All of those play a role, but what we need to realize is that they aren’t automatic, they are a result of what we do. There’s always going to be homework and responsibilities to fulfill, so as responsible adults, we shouldn’t let years go by without pursuing those things that make us happy. We need find time each day to devote to ourselves, we need to motivate ourselves, and we need to feel better about doing that. We can’t feel guilty for taking time for ourselves.

You aren’t your work, your accomplishments, your possessions, your home, your family… your anything. You’re a creation of your Source, dressed in a physical human body intended to experience and enjoy life on Earth-Wayne Dyer

As Wayne Dyer, a self-help author and motivational speaker said, you are what you wish to make yourself, so why make that person someone who is always waiting for someday? Make today the day you start playing piano again, or pick up that book that has nothing to do with math or science homework. Read one page, if that’s all it takes. Books used to be a source of comfort to me, and I’d go through multiple a week. Now they just bring me anxiety because I “don’t have time” to read for pleasure, and a stack of textbooks adorn my nightstand. Change that. Pick up that hobby, let it relax you and enjoy yourself. Let it make you feel like you’re accomplishing something, rather than sneaking a couple episodes of Netflix between class and work.

There will always be school, there will always be work, there will always be life. Don’t let excuses, which will always be there, get in the way of what you love and what brings you peace.

Leave a Reply

